Art of Coffee Brewing: Understanding Ratios

From AeroPress to Turkish: Tailor your coffee strength and flavor

Brew Ratios & Brew Methods

I’ve been brewing drip coffee with my Breville Grind Control Coffee Machine for close to 10 years and I didn’t think at all about brew ratios. There’s a 'strength’ setting which I’ve set at 3 forever as it tasted well enough. Brewing ‘standard’ medium-dark roast arabica beans for similarly long from the same roaster forever has also been my experience thus far until I dug deeper into this subject matter.

Learning about pour-over and manual brewing has certainly opened my eyes. It’s obvious now, that the more or less coffee grounds you add to your water would change the 'strength’ but I’ve been on autopilot for so long that it didn’t occur until this coffee exploration began.

How Ratios Work

When you see a 1:15 ratio, that means 1 part coffee to 15 parts water. You’ll typically find grams as the unit of measure but certainly any units could be adopted. Thus 1:15 translates to 15 grams of coffee would be 225 grams of water.

Brew Method

Brew Ratio

AeroPress

1:15 to 1:18

Cold Brew

1:8 to 1:12

Cowboy

1:12 to 1:16

Drip Coffee Maker

1:15 to 1:17

Espresso

1:1.5 to 1:2.5

French Press

1:12 to 1:15

Moka Pot

1:7 (Varies)

Pour Over

1:15 to 1:17

Turkish Coffee

1:10

These ratios are only meant to be a guide and altered to meet your own taste preferences.

Image Credit: Twiga Coffee

I haven’t included every type of brewer or brew method but I hope that it provides enough of a guide to be useful and if you want to email me to add your favorite brew method to this table, I’d be happy to.

Reply

or to participate.