Discovering the Joys of AeroPress: A Six-Month Journey of Brewing Excellence

Leverage the AeroPress to transform everyday coffee into a gourmet experience

Discovering the Joys of AeroPress: A Six-Month Journey of Brewing Excitement

Leverage the AeroPress to transform everyday coffee into a gourmet experience

Six months ago, my kitchen welcomed a new gadget, the AeroPress. As a novice but enthusiastic coffee brewer, my journey began with curiosity and a bit of skepticism—how could this simple device transform my coffee routine? Here's a deep dive into my experience, discoveries, and the joy of brewing with the AeroPress.

Me and my AeroPress Clear

The First Brew: Initial Skepticism and Surprise

My first encounter with the AeroPress was marked by skepticism. I had read much about it and knew of its fame from friends as well as an entire World AeroPress Championships pedigree but still, its a plastic build and simple mechanics didn't scream “amazing”. However, the first brew was a revelation. The coffee was remarkably smooth, with a clarity of flavour I experienced primarily with the Hario Switch.

AeroPress Components

Experimentation: Discovering the Flexibility of AeroPress

The real charm of the AeroPress lies in its versatility. Early on, I experimented with different grind sizes, brewing times, and techniques. I tried both fine grinds and shorter brew times and coarser grinds and longer steeping (similar to French press). After 6 months I’m not sure I have the language to describe these techniques adequately. From what I’ve read finer grinds yields a brighter clearer cup while coarser yields a richer more full bodied cup. I personally can’t substantiate this.

My goto is the "inverted brewing method," where the AeroPress is flipped upside down during steeping, preventing any coffee from dripping through. This method allowed for a more prolonged extraction. AeroPress has come out with a new flow control cap (which I have not yet bought) that eliminates the need to invert if one is primarily concerned about dripping through before the plunger is applied.

Community and Learning

What amplified my brewing experience was diving into the vibrant community of AeroPress enthusiasts. Online forums, blogs, and YouTube channels became sources of inspiration and learning. I was not just using a new coffee maker; I was part of a global club of coffee lovers who shared their recipes and hacks. The World AeroPress Championships, where brewers from around the world showcase their brewing skills and creativity, was particularly eye-opening.

2022 World AeroPress Championship in Vancouver

The Portable Café: AeroPress as a Work Companion

The AeroPress proved to be an excellent travel companion. Its lightweight and durable design made it easy to pack for trips. I typically will bring it with me to the office to brew onsite as well as for some of my coworkers. It’s super fun to weight the beans, grind the beans, pour the water and brew the coffee.

I haven’t taken it camping or to a more nature-focused area but I certainly will this summer.

AeroPress Go (I don’t own this. Yet. 😁)

Reflections After Six Months

Now, six months in, the AeroPress is has joined the rotation of coffee brewers I’ve begun to collect. I’ll need to continue to work to refine my palate I wish I could say that I could easily taste the difference between a V60 brew and an AeroPress brew but I haven’t done enough side by side comparisons to discern the difference by taste. Ultimately I think I enjoy the process more so than drinking thus far.

AeroPress Clear Kit - Image Credit: Argo Roasters

Brew Recipes

Here are three to try and I primarily use the inverted method however they're all worth a try. I would also vary the water temperature based on the roast profile.

The Inverted Method (Rich & Full-Bodied)

  • Grind Size: Medium-fine

  • Coffee Dose: 15 grams

  • Water Temperature: 85-90°C (185-194°F)

  • Water Dose: 240 grams

  • Brew Time: 2:30 minutes

  1. Setup: Place the Aeropress in an inverted position (plunger at the bottom, cap removed). Add ground coffee.

  2. Bloom: Pour 30 grams of water over the grounds and stir. Let it bloom for 30 seconds.

  3. Main Pour: Pour the remaining 210 grams of water and stir.

  4. Steep: Steep for 2 minutes.

  5. Press: Attach the cap with a pre-wet filter, flip the AeroPress onto a cup, and press gently over 30 seconds.

The Classic Method (Clean & Balanced)

  • Grind Size: Medium

  • Coffee Dose: 17 grams

  • Water Temperature: 92-95°C (198-203°F)

  • Water Dose: 220 grams

  • Brew Time: 1:45 minutes

  1. Setup: Insert a pre-wet paper filter into the cap, attach it to the AeroPress, and add ground coffee.

  2. Bloom: Pour 40 grams of water over the grounds and stir. Let it bloom for 30 seconds.

  3. Main Pour: Pour the remaining 180 grams of water up to the top of the AeroPress.

  4. Steep: Steep for 1 minute.

  5. Press: Press gently over 15 seconds.

2015 2nd Place World AeroPress Championship (Nick Hatch, Canada) Recipe

  • Grind Size: Ground at 17 on a Baratza Virtuoso grinder

  • Coffee Dose: 17.5 grams

  • Water Temperature: 85°C (185°F)

  • Water Dose 260 grams

  • Brew Time: 1:45 minutes

  1. Set up the AeroPress coffee maker in the standard position using one paper micro-filter.

  2. Add 50-60g of water.

  3. Stir five times

  4. Allow 25 seconds of bloom

  5. Add the rest of the water in 20 seconds

  6. Press for 60 seconds

These methods will give you a diverse flavor range from your AeroPress, catering to varying tastes and preferences.

Conclusion

The AeroPress stands out for its affordability, simplicity, and the exceptional coffee it produces. It appeals to both beginners and seasoned coffee aficionados. The journey from skeptical first-timer to passionate advocate has been full of learning and delightful surprises. For anyone curious about stepping up their coffee game, the AeroPress is a gateway to a richer, more flavourful world.

This exploration has not only enhanced my appreciation for coffee but has also brought a joyful, meditative element to my daily routine. Here's to many more months of brewing, experimenting, and savoring.

Reply

or to participate.