Diving Into Third-Wave Coffee: A Review of Hatch's Red Lotus Espresso

Unpacking my experience of aromas and brewing methods

Hatch - Red Lotus Espresso

This is my very first bag of what I would call 3rd Wave Specialty Coffee. I’ll follow up with another post about what I mean by that but basically, local/freshly roasted, tasting notes, and details about the beans origins and process.

Bag alongside beans

My experience may not be your experience as technique, equipment, water, and a whole host of other factors will play a part in how you taste and experience coffee.

I brewed this coffee using using both a Hario V60 Switch and AeroPress, they’re both brews. While I don’t believe I have the right vocabulary and language yet, I enjoyed the V60 brew method more so for this coffee. Could be the process, could be the brew recipe or technique. As I refine my writing and note-taking for each brew, I’ll be better able discern what factors seem to make the most delicious cup.

I also tried brewing these beans on my espresso set up and I think its that my equipment isn’t appropriate for this light-medium roast level. Using a Breville Bambino Plus and a Normcore V2 grinder, dosing 18g, ~37g out, it was quite sour. I personally have very LITTLE experience tasting espresso. While its possible its ‘supposed to be like that’, I don’t think its the beans and its more likely the barista (me).

Close up the bean blend

I certainly like the smell and when brewed with my pour-over set up, I was able to taste the raspberry, strawberry jam flavour notes. It smells very fruity as well.

Guji Region of Ethiopia (Purple), Bensa ~5 hours north

The information available on the website is awesome! I love the details around origin, producer, variety, process, elevation and who they sourced the beans from. One thing that I’ve seen in other specialty roasters is additional transparency around pricing.

Interestingly, the roast profile is NOT found on the bag, at least the bag I purchased but the information is on the website.

Website Information from Hatch

Roasted on February 27, 2024 - Purchased on March 2, 2024

I purchased this bag @ Another Land Coffee (I’m not sure how long or how often products change so I’d always call ahead if you’re coming from further out. I drove in from Ajax.)

Reply

or to participate.