Hatch Supernova: A Classic Cup for Everyday Enjoyment

A Review of Hatch Supernova Coffee: Perfect for Those Who Prefer a Traditional Taste

Hatch Supernova: A Classic Cup for Everyday Enjoyment

A Review of Hatch Supernova Coffee: Perfect for Those Who Prefer a Traditional Taste

My experience with Hatch Supernova is that its a great ‘normal’ coffee. If you’re not keen on diving too far into more acidic or floral/fruit forward coffees, this is a great place to start.

While the tasting notes are berries, praline and baker’s chocolate, I might have been able to taste a hint of berries and chocolate. I don’t eat or taste pralines very often so it would have been difficult for me to pick up on that tasting note regardless.

Me (Larry) holding the bag

The website does say that its a classic profile and what classic generally means is that its a consistent cup of coffee you’d find at any cafe or coffee shop that serves a great cup.

From the Hatch website

I brewed this bag both using pour-over and espresso. For pour-over its a great cup of ‘regular’ coffee. It tastes great but its similar to many other cups of coffee I’ve had. Perhaps a bit more acidic than a Starbucks Pike Place.

I pulled an espresso shot with it in my Bambino Plus and it was very acidic (to my taste). That could be a user (me) error in under-extraction or it could be how its supposed to be. It’s also on the lighter end of medium roast so that might also play a part.

\Measured out 20g

I bought this bag from Another Land Coffee but they have many retailers and shops that sell Hatch (along with their facility in Markham).

Reply

or to participate.