Reviewing Finca la Tormenta

Anaerobic, Light Roast, 1500 Meters

Nucleas Coffee is a Canadian coffee roaster based in Windsor, Quebec. They’ve got two coffee lines, one they call “Classic Series” and the other “Lab Series”. This bag that I’m reviewing is from the Lab series.

Stock Image of Coffee Bag Label

Finca La Tormenta by Nucleus Coffee

These beans come from Guatemala on the La Tormenta farm which is located in the San Agustin Acasaguastlán region. This coffee farm is adjacent to the Parque Nacional de la Sierra de las Minas.

San Agustin Acasaguastlán Region of Guatemala

The beans have been processed using a 72 hour cold anaerobic fermentation process. From the packaging and the website you’ll get a tasting note of grapefruit and and an aromatic profile of watermelon, caramel and orange juice.

They’ve been lightly roasted and their website includes a roast profile which I haven’t seen previously.

First crack at 9 minutes 20 seconds and 20% development for a total time of 11 minutes 50 seconds, this is truly a well-rounded coffee offering fruit aromas and a fermented aspect, thanks to the anaerobic process.

As I journey through tasting more coffees, I’m certainly getting a better take on what I like and what I may not prefer. This one is definitely one that I like. It has some acidity but certainly not an unpleasant amount. My wife however doesn’t like it at all. It’s bright and I’m not sure I was able to pick up on the grapefruit tasting note.

I’ve only brewed pour overs with these beans and they’re excellent cups of coffee. Definitely different from a Starbucks Pike.

As you can see from the packaging, its in French which is the primary language for the Province of Quebec. Some of the translations are a Light Roast Level, Grapefruit, Tangy, and Bright.

I haven’t tasted a ton of anaerobic fermentation processes however compared to some of the natural ones I’ve tasted, its definitely not very funky. I haven’t bought a bag of coffee that is overly funky but its certainly on my list to acquire and taste to find out.

One of the aspects of my coffee journey is all about finding out what I like and don’t like. Most coffee chains produce cups of coffee that are repeatable and consistent. That’s one of the reasons I’ve chosen to go down this path is to find “inconsistent'“ cups of coffee because they often have an origin characteristic or flavour profile I may or may not like.

Bag with Beans 😁😁

Close up of roasted beans

Storing beans in Airscape canister

Reply

or to participate.